ECS Webinar - May 20, 2020

EDNS Client Subnet Identifier (ECS), allows a DNS resolver to include information about the requesting client in the query, so that the authoritative system can customize the response. The BIND 9 Subscription Edition includes resolver support for ECS, which can be used with third-party authoritative systems that leverage ECS.

ECS was originally designed for high-bandwidth applications, like video streaming, to direct clients to a local cache. Application developers have seized on ECS as a way to enable other applications, such as selective forwarding. This tech talk, with ISC engineers Eddy Winstead and Evan Hunt, will explain what ECS is, how it works in BIND, and how it impacts the resolver cache. We will discuss some of the applications for ECS and take questions about our implementation.

The slides and a recording of the webinar will be available on our Presentations page once the webinar is complete.

We invite all BIND 9 administrators and any other interested users to register for the May 20th webinar at 1700 UTC/1 PM EDT/10 AM PDT, at https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_hiNuW3zOSCShuMrqBG3XGw.

Recent Posts

What's New from ISC

ISC's 2020 Accomplishments

2020 is finally over, and we can assess the damage. We at ISC are thankful that we have emerged remarkably unscathed by either the Pandemic or the related economic disruption.

Read post